23 teams from 19 nations confirmed to compete in Tour d'Azerbaidjan race

Baku, April 7, AZERTAC

The Tour d'Azerbaidjan organization has announced that a strong field of six Pro Continental teams and 17 Continental teams will line up at this year's tour, starting on 3 May in Azerbaijan's capital, Baku.

Team Novo Nordisk, Gazprom-Rusvelo, Israel Cycling Academy and Wilier Triestina return to the race, and these four are joined by Nippo - Vini Fantini and Delko Marseille Provence KTM at the top of the start list to make up the Pro Continental teams.

Home favourite Synergy Baku Cycling Project, last year's team classification winners, will once again be looking to challenge its larger counterparts, as will a host of other Continental teams from across the world, including from China, Japan, the United States, the Middle East and across Europe. Amongst the teams are Astana City, of 2016 third place finisher Nikita Stanlov, as well as the team that took home last year's white jersey of best young rider, Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team.

“We're very pleased to once again announce a truly international peloton at this year's race,” said Farhad Aliyev, General Secretary of Azerbaijan Cycling Federation. “The global presence that we have at this race year-on-year allows us to reach people all over the world, and together with an international press following we hope to continue to reach audiences far and wide.”

A full start list of confirmed riders will be announced closer to the race.

The Tour d’Azerbaidjan is a UCI 2.1 five-day stage race. This will be the sixth edition of the event, which started in 2012 as the Heydar Aliyev Anniversary Tour (U23) after which it became the Tour d’Azerbaidjan.

The Tour covers all seven regions of Azerbaijan in five stages, starting and ending in the capital city of Baku.

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.