AIBA announces successful bids from India, Russia and Turkey to host Elite Men’s and Women’s World Championships to 2021

Baku, July 25, AZERTAC

The Amateur International Boxing Association (AIBA) has said delegations from National Boxing Federations gave their final presentations to its Executive Committee as they bid for the right to host the next wave of major AIBA international competitions and events until 2021.

Having analysed the presentations, the unanimous agreement of the AIBA Executive Committee awarded the 2019 Men’s World Championships to the Russian city of Sochi, with the 2021 edition to be held in New Delhi, India, according to AIBA.

The 2018 Women’s World Championships will also be held in New Delhi, with the 2019 edition in Trabzon, Turkey. The AIBA 2018 Congress was awarded to the Russian capital city of Moscow.

“The strength of all of the bids we have seen today is the clearest indication yet of AIBA’s successful efforts to amplify the prestige of its World Championships even further, with the strongest global broadcasting and sponsorship partnerships secured to date already finalised for next month’s Men’s World Championships in Hamburg,” said AIBA President Dr Ching-Kuo Wu.

“Having witnessed the Russian Boxing Federation’s dedication to promote the sport of boxing and its capacity to meet the Executive Committee’s expectations for hosting our biggest event, we are delighted to have the AIBA Men’s World Championships 2019 confirmed for Sochi, and equally excited to announce New Delhi as host city in 2021 as the Boxing Federation of India continues to show its commitment to developing the sport. Following the presentation of the Turkish Boxing Federation, I know that Trabzon will also meet the demands of hosting the world’s biggest women’s boxing tournament in 2019.”

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.