Australia imposes sanctions against 14 Russian companies and organizations

Baku, April 14, AZERTAC

Australia’s government has imposed economic sanctions against 14 Russian companies and organizations over the situation in Ukraine, Australia’s Department of Home Affairs said on Thursday, according to TASS.

Falling under Australia’s sanctions are fuel and energy companies Gazprom, Gazprom Neft, and Transneft, truck manufacturer Kamaz, diamond mining company Alrosa, Ruselectronics holding company, Rostelecom, hydroelectricity company RusHydro, United Shipbuilding Corporation (USC), Sevmash (incorporated into USC), ship operator Sovomflot, Novorossiysk Commercial Sea Port, insurance company Sogaz, and the railway trips booking office of Visit Russia national travel company.

By today, Australia has imposed sanctions against more than 500 Russian and Belarusian citizens, including Presidents Vladimir Putin of Russia and Alexander Lukashenko of Belarus. Economic sanctions, including a ban on exports of weapons and components, raw materials and equipment for oil and gas production and a ban on imports of Russian energy sources, weapons and components, were imposed against Russia’s biggest companies and organizations.

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.