Azerbaijan elected ECOSOC member

Baku, June 16, AZERTAC

Azerbaijan has been elected a member of UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) for 2017-2019, Azerbaijan's Ministry of Foreign Affairs said.

Azerbaijan was a member of ECOSOC in 2003-2005.

An active diplomatic work has been carried out since 2011 in order to get support for the country's membership of the organization.

Azerbaijan was elected a member of the ECOSOC as 176 countries out of 184 member states which participated in the voting at the UN General Assembly voted in favor of the country.

Azerbaijan's membership at the ECOSOC will last from January 2017 until December 31, 2019.

"Azerbaijan will contribute to international peace and development in accordance with the purposes and principles of the UN Charter during its membership of the Council," the Ministry said.

The Economic and Social Council is the United Nations' central platform for reflection, debate, and innovative thinking on sustainable development.

ECOSOC's inaugural meeting was convened in January 1946 in London, with Sir Ramaswami Mudaliar of India chairing as its first President. Since then, the 54-member body has served as the central platform of the UN to address global economic, social and related issues. Indeed, at the centre of the UN development system, ECOSOC conduct cutting-edge analysis, agrees on global norms and advocates for progress towards collective solutions to advance sustainable development.

The Council's 54 member Governments are elected by the General Assembly for overlapping three-year terms. Seats on the Council are allotted based on geographical representation with fourteen allocated to African States, eleven to Asian States, six to Eastern European States, ten to Latin American and Caribbean States, and thirteen to Western European and other States.

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.