Azerbaijan learn World Cup qualifying fate

Baku, July 26, AZERTAC

Europe's 52 entrants discovered their route to the 2018 FIFA World Cup following the qualifying draw on Saturday, with Azerbaijan facing a tough test.

The draw put Azerbaijan in Group C together with Germany, Czech Republic, Northern Ireland, Norway and San Marino.

All the UEFA national associations were involved except for Russia, who qualify automatically as hosts, and non-FIFA members Gibraltar. They were drawn into seven groups of six teams and two of five. Among the most eye-catching sections is Group G, which will see UEFA EURO 2012 finalists Spain and Italy meet once more. Elsewhere, UEFA EURO 2016 hosts France will play the Netherlands in Group A, England face Scotland in Group.

The nine group winners will advance directly to the final tournament, with the eight best runners-up with the best record against the teams first, third, fourth and fifth in their groups proceeding to play-offs to decide the remaining four European berths.

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.