Best Player in Europe Award shortlist announced

Baku, July 17, AZERTAC

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are rivals for a top prize once more following the release of the ten-man shortlist for the 2014/15 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award, according to

Eight UEFA Champions League finalists and last season's winner Cristiano Ronaldo have made the ten-man shortlist for the 2014/15 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award, with the recipient to be announced on 28 August.

As in previous years, journalists from each of UEFA's 54 member associations provided a list of their five best-ranked players, with the first receiving five points, the second four and so on. The ten players with the most points have advanced to the second vote, which will determine the three finalists to be named on 12 August.

The jury will then cast their votes for the outright winner during the 2015/16 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on 28 August. Past editions have been won by Lionel Messi (2011), Andrés Iniesta (2012), Franck Ribéry (2013) and Ronaldo (2014).

The nominees, in alphabetical order, are:

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy – Juventus), Eden Hazard (Belgium – Chelsea FC), Lionel Messi (Argentina – FC Barcelona), Neymar (Brazil – FC Barcelona), Paul Pogba (France – Juventus), Andrea Pirlo (Italy – Juventus, now New York City FC), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal – Real Madrid CF), Luis Suárez (Uruguay – FC Barcelona), Carlos Tévez (Argentina – Juventus, now CA Boca Juniors), Arturo Vidal (Chile – Juventus).

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.