Chile join South American bid for 2030 World Cup hosting

Baku, February 15, AZERTAC

Chile are to join Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay in bidding to stage the 2030 World Cup in what, if successful, would be the first ever four-nation joint hosting.

The bid will almost certainly be up against one from Britain and Ireland and potentially two more: Five-time losers Morocco – joined by either Spain and Portugal or Algeria and Tunisia – and a Balkan/east European quartet of nations.

Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay had already submitted a joint bid to host what will be the centenary edition of the tournament and Chile’s President Sebastian Pinera has now confirmed his country has been added to the coalition of South American nations who would start favourites to land the event.

“The Presidents of the Argentinian Republic, Mauricio Macri; of the Republic of Chile, Sebastián Piñera; from the Republic of Paraguay, Mario Abdo; and of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, Tabaré Vázquez; have agreed to present their joint candidacy to organize the 2030 World Cup,” he said on Twitter.

“The Presidents, through the four respective football associations (AFA, ANFP, AFP and AUF), have decided to bring before FIFA, after communicating this to CONMEBOL, a shared position to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the first World Cup, organised by Uruguay in 1930.”

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.