English Premier League set new record with 13 manager sackings this season

English Premier League set new record with 13 manager sackings this season

Baku, April 5, AZERTAC

The English Premier League, the most prestigious league in Europe, in 2022-23 has seen the most sackings in a single season yet, as clubs have so far changed their managers over a dozen times, according to Anadolu Agency.

After poor results, Chelsea confirmed on Sunday that they had sacked Graham Potter, 47, making the English national the 13th managerial departure this season. On the same day, Brendan Rodgers, 50, was dismissed by Leicester City.

German football data website Transfermarkt said that the English clubs sacked their managers 13 times in the ongoing 2022-23 Premier League season, setting a new record.

This season, the list of the dismissed includes Scott Parker (Bournemouth), Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea), Graham Potter (Brighton & Hove Albion, and Chelsea), Bruno Lage (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Steven Gerrard (Aston Villa), Ralph Hasenhuttl (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Everton), Jesse Marsch (Leeds United), Nathan Jones (Southampton), Patrick Vieira (Crystal Palace), Antonio Conte (Tottenham Hotspur), and Brendan Rodgers (Leicester City).

Potter, who last managed Chelsea, was fired twice this season. He was previously dismissed by Brighton last September.

The English top-flight league's previous record was 10 in-season sackings, which took place in five seasons over the last 30 years: 2021-22, 2017-18, 2013-14, 2008-09, and 1994-95.

In the 2017-18 season, when Manchester City won the English title, 10 managers were sacked during the season, and five others left their seats after season-ending matches at their clubs in mid-May.

Premier League managers sacked this season are as follows:

1. Scott Parker (Bournemouth): Aug. 30, 2022

2. Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea): Sept. 7, 2022

3. Graham Potter (Brighton & Hove Albion): Sept. 7, 2022

4. Bruno Lage (Wolverhampton Wanderers): Oct. 2, 2022

5. Steven Gerrard (Aston Villa): Oct. 20, 2022

6. Ralph Hasenhuttl (Southampton): Nov. 7, 2022

7. Frank Lampard (Everton): Jan. 23, 2023

8. Jesse Marsch (Leeds United): Feb. 6, 2023

9. Nathan Jones (Southampton): Feb. 12, 2023

10. Patrick Vieira (Crystal Palace): March 17, 2023

11. Antonio Conte (Tottenham Hotspur): March 26, 2023

12. Brendan Rodgers (Leicester City): April 2, 2023

13. Graham Potter (Chelsea): April 2, 2023

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.