From co-chairs, BoT members and members of the Nizami Ganjavi International Center

His Excellency Mr Ilham Aliyev, President of the Republic of Azerbaijan

Dear Mr. President,

On behalf of the Nizami Ganjavi International Center, please accept our deepest sympathy and condolences with regard to the loss of life, both civilian and military, that Azerbaijan has suffered in the recent military escalation of the frozen conflict over Nagorny Karabakh.

We join the international community in expressing our shock and sorrow at the recent breach of the 1994 ceasefire and urge Azerbaijan to take every possible measure to prevent the escalation of military action. The situation as it is developing is fraught with danger for the stability for the whole region and the engagement of unwelcome third parties to the conflict remains a constant threat.

This is the time to resort to all possible diplomatic channels, including the OSCE and members of the Minsk group, to call for an immediate ceasefire, and use every recourse at the international level to prevent any further attacks on the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan.

A lasting and peaceful settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh situation remains, as ever, the long-term solution and the means to restore the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan. In spite of serious breaches of international law, we implore you not to respond to deliberate provocations, which might be used as an excuse for a dangerous escalation of the conflict, as has happened elsewhere in the world.

Along with our sympathy, please accept, Mr President, the assurances of our highest respect and consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Vaira Vike-Freiberga, co-chair, President of the Republic of Latvia (1999-2007)

Ismail Serageldin, co-chair, Director of the Library of Alexandria

Petar Stoyanov, BoT Member, President of the Republic of Bulgaria (1997-2002)

Boris Tadic, BoT Member, President of Serbia (2004-2012)

Stjepan Mesic, BoT Member, President of Croatia (2000-2010)

Emil Constantinescu, BoT Member, President of Romania (1996-2000)

Viktor Yushchenko, Member, President of Ukraine (2005-2010)

Rexhep Meidani, Member, President of Albania (1997-2002)


© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter