Magnus Carlsen wins Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2016

Baku, February 1, AZERTAC

World champion Magnus Carlsen has won the 78th edition of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament and unbeaten as well. It is the fifth time that Carlsen has won the tournament in Wijk aan Zee, equalling the record set by Anand. Fabiano Caruana (United States) and Ding Liren (China) shared second spot. Carlsen received his prize from Theo Henrar, chairman of the directors of Tata Steel Nederland. Henrar also announced that the 79th edition of the Tata Steel Chess Tournament will take place from Friday 13 - Sunday 29 January 2017.

Adhiban Baskaran (India), Alexey Dreev (Russia) and Eltaj Safarli (Azerbaijan) share first place in the Tata Steel Challengers. Having the best result in his matches against the other two, Baskaran has earned promotion to the Tata Steel Masters at the Tata Steel Chess Tournament 2017.

Vladimir Dobrov (Russia) has won the Top 10 Tournament. This means that he will participate in the Tata Steel Challengers in 2017.

The Vugar Gashimov Award for fair play, introduced this year by Sarkhan Gashimov in memory of his brother Vugar, who died in 2014, has been awarded to David Navara and Jorden van Foreest. Both have shown good sportsmanship in many ways during the tournament. They received the prize from Sarkan Gashimov.

Professor Johan van Hulst, who turned 105 last week, awarded the prize for the most promising talent to Jorden van Foreest and Wei Yi.

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.