No Le Mans clash for Azerbaijan's renamed race on new 2017 calendar

Baku, December 1, AZERTAC

The FIA has confirmed the final 2017 F1 calendar which will feature 20 races, one fewer than this year.

The German Grand Prix, which was held at the Hockenheimring this year, will not take place in 2017.

Another significant change on the calendar is the moving of the race in Baku, which no longer clashes with the Le Mans 24 Hours. The race will also drop the title 'European Grand Prix' and adopt the title 'Azerbaijan Grand Prix' instead.

The Austrian, British and Hungarian Grand Prix will also take place one week later, that is on June 25, taking advantage of the space freed up in the calendar by the loss of Germany's race.

The fall in the number of races also affects the number of power units each driver may use during 2017. The rules permit five power units in a 21-race season, but no more than four without penalty in a 20-race championship.

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.