Record-breaking 22-race F1 calendar set for 2020

Record-breaking 22-race F1 calendar set for 2020

Baku, August 29, AZERTAC

Formula 1 has released the draft calendar of the 2020 FIA Formula 1 World Championship, which features an unprecedented 22 Grands Prix. This will be submitted for approval during the FIA World Motor Sport Council meeting on October 4, according to

F1's 70th anniversary season gets underway with the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne on March 15 and, as usual, it will end with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at the Yas Marina Circuit on November 29.

Along the way there will be seven back-to-back race weekends and two exciting new additions.

Vietnam will become the 34th country to stage a round of the FIA Formula 1 World Championship, with a race in the dazzling capital Hanoi on April 5.

Meanwhile, a famous name from the past returns in the shape of the Zandvoort circuit, which will be the venue for the Dutch Grand Prix - and much Max Verstappen mania - on May 3.

This year, several historic events - Australia, Great Britain and Spain - have renewed their contracts, as has the more recent and spectacular Azerbaijan Grand Prix. Mexico City will years under the new title of Mexico City Grand Prix. And, currently being finalized is an extension to the contract with the Italian Grand Prix, which next weekend celebrates its 90th anniversary.

F12020 Calendar is as follows:

Australian Grand Prix (15 March), Bahrain Grand Prix (22 March), Vietnam Grand Prix (5 April), Chinese Grand Prix (19 April), Dutch Grand Prix (3 May), Spanish Grand Prix (10 May), Monaco Grand Prix (24 May), Azerbaijan Grand Prix (7 June), Canadian Grand Prix (14 June), French Grand Prix (28 June), Austrian Grand Prix (5 July), British Grand Prix (19 July), Hungarian Grand Prix (2 August), Belgian Grand Prix (30 August), Italian Grand Prix (6 September), Singapore Grand Prix (20 September), Russian Grand Prix (27 September), Japanese Grand Prix (11 October), United States Grand Prix (25 October), Mexico City Grand Prix (1 November), Brazilian Grand Prix (15 November) and Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (29 November)

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.