Scott Morrison`s ministry sworn in at Government House

Baku, May 29, AZERTAC

Scott Morrison was sworn in as Australia`s Prime Minister on Wednesday, 11 days after retaining the position in the country`s general election, according to The Australian newspaper.

Along with Deputy Prime Minister Michael McCormack, Mr. Morrison was sworn in by Queen Elizabeth`s official representative in Australia, Governor-General Sir Peter Cosgrove, at a ceremony in the capital, Canberra.

But today`s ceremony was historically significant for all the right reasons — Western Australian Liberal MP Ken Wyatt became the country’s first Aboriginal cabinet minister.

Mr Wyatt, who wore a traditional kangaroo skin called a booka gifted to him by the Noongar people, received a standing ovation from his colleagues as he was sworn-in as the Minister for Indigenous Australians.

Mr. Morrison became Australia`s 30th Prime Minister through an internal party vote last August in which he replaced Malcolm Turnbull as chief of the ruling Liberal Party.

It was the fourth switch of Australia`s leader through an internal party vote in just eight years, sparking heated criticism from many voters. Yet Mr. Morrison was returned to his post in the May 18 election, and with an increased majority for the conservative Liberal-National party coalition.

With voting continuing in two close seats, the coalition was ahead in 77 seats, with the opposition Labor Party leading in 68, and with six seats having been secured by independent candidates and minor parties. A total of 76 seats is needed for majority government.

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.