UEFA Best Player in Europe Award shortlist revealed

Baku, July 18, AZERTAC

Some of the world's top footballers will compete to be named as the 2015/16 UEFA Best Player in Europe after the ten-man shortlist was announced today, according to the official website of UEFA.

Journalists from each of UEFA's 55 member associations provided a list of their five best-ranked players, with the first receiving five points, the second four and so on. The ten players with the most points advance to the second vote, which will determine the three finalists to be named on 5 August.

The jury will then cast their votes for the outright winner, which will be announced during the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on 25 August. Last year's winner Lionel Messi will be looking to collect his third award after scooping the first in 2011. Other former honourees are Andrés Iniesta (2012), Franck Ribery (2013) and Cristiano Ronaldo (2014).

The nominees, in alphabetical order, are: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid & Wales); Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus & Italy), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid & France); Toni Kroos (Real Madrid & Germany); Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina); Thomas Müller (Bayern München & Germany); Manuel Neuer (Bayern München & Germany); Pepe (Real Madrid & Portugal); Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid & Portugal); Luis Suarez (Barcelona & Uruguay).

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.