UEFA Nations League kicks off in September 2018

Baku, March 31, AZERTAC

The UEFA Nations League kicks off in September 2018, according to the official website of UEFA.

The 55 participating teams are split for the inaugural edition into four leagues, A–B–C–D, according to their position in the UEFA National Team Cofficient Rankings following the end of European Qualifiers for the 2018 FIFA World Cup (as per 15 November 2017).

League A will include the 12 top-ranked teams, the next 12 teams will be in League B, the next 15 in League C and the remaining 16 in League D.

After the initial edition begins there will be promotion and relegation between the leagues, and the ongoing UEFA Nations League rankings will determine seedings for all future European Qualifiers.

League A (teams to be split into four groups of three): Germany, France, Portugal, Belgium, Spain, England, Switzerland, Italy, Croatia, Poland, Iceland, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

League B (teams to be split into four groups of three): Republic of Ireland, Russia, Austria, Sweden, Slovakia, Wales, Ukraine, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Czech Republic, Turkey, Hungary.

League C (teams to be split into one group of three, and three groups of four): Greece, Romania, Slovenia, Israel, Serbia, Denmark, Bulgaria, Albania, Scotland, Montenegro, Norway, Lithuania, Azerbaijan, Cyprus, Armenia.

League D (teams to be split into four groups of four): Estonia, Finland, Belarus, Georgia, Faroe Islands, Latvia, FYR Macedonia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Kosovo, Malta, Andorra, San Marino, Gibraltar.

The winners will be decided in a final four tournament between the group victors in June 2019.

Note that Russia and Ukraine can be in the same League, but would not be drawn into the same group. The same applies to Armenia and Azerbaijan, if the current UEFA Executive Committee decisions still apply when the draw is made.

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.