CULTURE


The Chained House in Baku- a story behind the century-old building in Icharishahar

Baku, April 11, AZERTAC

The Icharishahar, also known as the Inner City among foreign visitors, is a unique mixture of the architectural masterpieces, labeled as the World Heritage site by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

The Mosques, caravanserais, as well as other historical monuments, located in the “Heart of Baku”, are registered as the monuments of state significance.

The Chained House is a century-old sample of architectural brilliance located in the Inner City.

Built in the early 20th century, the building first belonged to the merchant Haji Mammmadhuseyn Mammadov.

However, in 1928, the property was bought by the well-known merchants the Melikov brothers.

In 1930, though, the Baku City Customs office confiscated the property due to smuggling and transferred it to the state.

Since that time, the building has been operating as a clothing factory, bearing the name of Azerbaijan’s prominent political figure and writer Nariman Narimanov.

The facade of the building is opposite to the Gosha Gala Gates, dividing the main entrance square of the Icherishaher into the Boyuk Qala Street on the right and the Gulla Street on the left.

Currently, the building accommodates the Museum of Archeology and Ethnography of the Archaeology and Ethnography Institute of the Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences.

 

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter

FEEDBACK

Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.