Seven South American countries sign Amazon protection agreement

Baku, September 8, AZERTAC

Seven South American countries have signed an agreement to work together to protect the Amazonian forests from fires and the harmful effects of humans, according to Teller Report.

“This pact obliges and motivates us to defend our Amazon, to work to prevent risks and eliminate their consequences,” TASS quoted Colombian President Ivan Duque as saying.

He also said that the countries will fight together with the causes of forest destruction: illegal logging and expansion of agricultural land, as well as natural fires.

The agreement was signed by the representatives of Ecuador, Bolivia, Colombia, Peru, Brazil, Guyana and Suriname.

Venezuelan authorities were not invited to the meeting.

In August, Tim Cook, CEO of the American corporation Apple, said that his company would allocate funds to save the forests of the Amazon.

© Content from this site must be hyperlinked when used.
Report a mistake by marking it and pressing ctrl + enter


Fields with * are required.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.